almond tree
Photo: Almond Board of California

Press Release Provided by the Almond Board of California

The Almond Board of California (ABC) has released election results for the Board of Directors positions whose terms of office begin August 1, 2021. As a governing body for the industry, the ABC Board of Directors is comprised of five handler and five grower representatives who set policy and recommend budgets in several major areas, including production research, public relations and advertising, nutrition research, statistical reporting, quality control and food safety. 

The names of the following nominees have been submitted to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture for selection:

Independent Grower

Member Position One (one-year term):

Paul Ewing, Los Banos

Alternate Position One:

Brandon Rebiero, Modesto

Member Position Three (three-year term):

Joe Gardiner, Earlimart

Alternate Position Three:

Chris Bettencourt, Westley

Independent Handler

Member Position Two (three-year term):

Bob Silveira, Williams

Alternate Position Two:

Dexter Long, Ballico

Member Position Three (one-year term):

Darren Rigg, Le Grand

Alternate Position Three:

Chad DeRose, McFarland

Cooperative Grower

Member Position Two (three-year term):

Christine Gemperle, Ceres

Alternate Position Two:
Kent Stenderup, Bakersfield

In addition, Lisa Giannini, Hickman, has been named to fill the Cooperative Grower Alternate Position One role.

Previous articleCDFA Accepting Public Comment on Proposed Regulations for Implementation of Proposition 12 (2018)
Next articleIncreased Demand Helps Almonds Overcome Port Issues, Tariffs and COVID-19 Limitations